She wears a t-shirt on her head?

She wears a t-shirt on her head? Well, not exactly. This is how I dry my hair after I wash it.
Why? Because a cotton t-shirt or micro-fibre towel does not have the texture of a normal bath towel, which can rough up the hair cuticle and cause frizz. The t-shirt absorbs the right amount of moisture so as not to dry out the hair too much.
This is a common technique for many curly and wavy-haired girls (and some guys I’m sure), but you can imagine the hilarity I’ve caused in past housemates, family members and my boyfriend. But they’re used to it now – it’s just another of my quirks.
As well as being easier on fragile strands of hair, this method also encourages and preserves curl pattern.
Now, you don’t just have to wear the t-shirt (or micro-fibre towel) the way I do in this picture, you can also turban it like a traditional towel (I did it like that when my hair was pixie-short), or just blot, scrunch or gently squeeze out the water. Just don’t rub your hair vigorously! It might be better than a bath towel, but it won’t help if you still insist on batting your hair around like it did something wrong.
Oh, and another thing that is almost sillier than the way this looks, is the name for this technique: ‘plopping’ or ‘plunking’. But it’s worth it, I promise.
For a tutorial on how to do this, check out this YouTube video by Waterlilly716. She uses a long-sleeved t-shirt, but if you only have short-sleeved t-shirts available, a hair-tie will work well to tie the sleeves together.
20140624_151310
Enjoy trying this out!

Love and waves,
Astrid

One thought on “She wears a t-shirt on her head?

What are your thoughts?

