Hair Product Storage: DIY

After the post about my iHerb.com haul, I decided to use the box packaging as storage for some of my hair products and tools. I’d been wanting to pick up a box or basket for this purpose for awhile, but then I decided that up-cycling a cardboard shipping box was a better idea – money-wise and environment-wise.
First I just threw in everything like this:
20140711_181601
But after a few days, I started to get sick of the thing looking so utilitarian. So I decided to personalise it.
Here’s what I did:

I used: scissors, glue, magazines, old paperback books and the brown paper that iHerb used to package the products in.
20140711_181612

Method:
1. Cut off the top flaps and holes on each of the narrower ends as handles. I ended up with this:
20140711_183041

2. Gather pictures from the magazines and pages of the old books (or any pretty paper you wish to use), and glue them onto the four outside surfaces. I used the brown paper to line the inside and bottom of the box, just to cover the tape and folds of the cardboard box.
20140712_130224

So when I started this DIY post, I thought the method would be a little longer than that. But I guess most of the effort is in time rather than multiple steps. One thing I’d like to add is a coat of glue to varnish and protect the slap-dash job I did. But for now, here is the finished product being put to use on my shelf:
20140712_130637

Yes, that’s a picture of Kristen Stewart from the latest Chanel campaign. Her hair in it is fantastic!

I hope this gives you guys some ideas for personalised product storage.

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

