Busy Sunday.

On Monday I promised that I would tell you all what I was up to on the weekend. Now that I’m typing, I’m wondering if you guys will be interested in the things I did on the weekend – but I need to get over that. The whole point of a blog is to be myself and put myself ‘out there’. So here goes:

On Sunday, I went to see Strictly Ballroom: The Musical with my aunt and grandma! Ahhhh, you guys, this was so much fun. I don’t think I’ve met anyone who’s seen that movie that doesn’t like it.
And Baz Luhrmann – well – he lived up to himself as did his wife Catherine Martin with the hilarious costumes. The entire theatre was decked out like a ballroom dancing competition and then some. There were fake posters around the seats for all the kinds of things that a dancer would love (plus a couple of local business type stuff): shoes, salons, electrical, meat. So camp and Aussie and glittery!
I won’t say too much more, because if you ever get the chance, go see it. I’m sure it will make its way across the globe if Baz has anything to do about it. But I do have to tell you guys about the finale – it was ‘Love is in the Air’ (of course), and the performers came down into the audience and grabbed audience members to go up onstage and dance with them. Can you see where this is going? I got taken by the hand and led up to the stage along with people of every age and ability. There was partner dancing and then a conga line 😀

So my day didn’t end there. Something I haven’t touched on yet on the blog, is that I like to dance. At the moment, I’ve gotten back into salsa dancing again (I did it through uni, then stopped for a few years). On Sunday night (conveniently the musical was a matinee), the salsa school I dance at held their biannual ball, complete with shows and wine. Unfortunately I didn’t get any photos of the day – I’m not great with stopping what I’m doing to take photos. But it was fun, and when there are events in the future, I’ll be sure to get some images to show you guys.

Enough about me, what do you guys like to do? What passions do you have? Leave a comment below!

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

