Do You Low-Poo? A Review

Good evening guys! Today I’m posting after my last day of my first week at hairdressing college. Not much to report except that: I get to play with hair all day! Even when I have to do written work, of which there isn’t much, I’m switched on enough to realise that the theory behind the hairdressing industry just as essential to the job I want as the obvious. Also, I learn through a combination of hands on and written notes, so I actually enjoy the theory (writer here, remember?).

Anywho, I just wanted to give a small update on my first week (yay!). Now onto the main post: a review! This is the first review I’ve done on the blog, but I thought I should, since I’m enjoying this product so much.
It is the DevaCare Low-Poo.
20140717_175322
Now, it’s a clear sign of my obsession with all things hair that I’m excited about a shampoo. This one – well, it leaves my hair soft, which is hard for a shampoo to do. Especially since my hair is coloured as well as naturally dry. The main reason for this not being drying is that it is sulfate free. But that’s not all, because there are sulfate free shampoos that can really dry out my hair. I think it’s also that this specific shampoo is formulated for colour-treated hair, as well as being sulfate free (sulfate-containing shampoos that are formulated for coloured hair can also dry my hair out).
After a quick look at the ingredients, I can see a few things that I know my hair likes from other products I’ve tried with those ingredients: glycerin, chamomile extract, and rosemary extract. It also contains what I believe are processed castor oil and lanolin: PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil; PEG-75 Lanolin. I don’t know if these ingredients are consistently good for my hair, but since my hair likes waxy and oily type ingredients, I’m not discounting them as part of the reason why I like this shampoo so much. Not to mention the citrusy smell – citrus smells just automatically make me happy 😀

On another note, while I’m in review mode, I’ve been thinking about doing a spotlight once a month on an Aussie product or product that’s easily found in Australia. It may end up being more than once a month, once I use up some of my current stash of products. What do you think? I’d especially appreciate any views from Aussie readers. Thanks in advance!

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

