College Update

Last Monday was the first day of my hairdressing course. I arrived a few minutes late and got lost in the angled corridors and off-centre rooms. Once I figured out where everyone was waiting, I walked into a room of young women and one young man – all between the ages of fifteen and twenty-two, making me the oldest. The teacher hadn’t arrived yet, so my lateness wasn’t too conspicuous. They smiled and began introducing themselves and told me they were also starting that day. However, they were all apprentices, whereas I’m doing the full time one year course.

Our teacher arrived (I’ll call her L) and we went through the usual first-day stuff: paperwork, introductions, tour of the campus etc. I really like L, she’s a smiley woman with gorgeous long, dark hair – very friendly and easy to talk to.

Monday’s are short days, so once we got through all the logistics of finalising enrollments, it was 12:30 and time to go home.

I did something to my back on Tuesday, so missed out on Wednesday.

On Thursday, I was actually on time, but it still took me a few minutes to figure out where everyone was. The group of apprentices I’d met on Monday weren’t there – they were at their jobs, of course. I eventually found a few of the full-time students in the practical room – where we practice on mannequins or clients if anyone has booked in. They introduced themselves with smiles and told me a bit about the other students who weren’t there yet. I asked where everyone was, having been told to arrive each day at least five minutes before 8:30 – yet only half of our class was there, and the teacher was running late. The first woman I talked to was confused too – last term they had been told to be ready fifteen minutes early. But despite some people running late, it gave me a chance to get to know the girls who were there on time – I found out that at least half of our class have some kind of makeup artist training – something I’d like to do once I finish this course. On Thursdays we have a different teacher (I’ll call her C), a straight-forward Irish woman who has a similar hairstyle to me – chin-length and red-tinted. Like L, she’s easy to talk to and happy to answer any questions I have – and I know I’m the kind of person who can get kind of annoying with the amount of questions I ask (before the speaker has a chance to give me the information).

C got us working on up-dos as practice for the student fashion show we’re styling tomorrow. And then I did some blow-dries on the mannequin head that came with my kit (you should see it sitting in my room – a little bit creepy). By the end of the day, I was happy about my decision to enroll at this academy, and I’m really looking forward to the learning challenges to come.

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

