First Colour!

‘She’s a thinker,’ said P to the workshop leader, H, as I slid the tail of my colour brush under a section of hair and began applying another swab of colour to the roots.
‘Sometimes I think too much,’ I said, not taking my eyes off my task. H chuckled, watched for a bit longer, then moved on to observe another student.
P, H and I were at a colour workshop today, where I was applying my first colour to P’s hair. P is a friend of my Grandma’s who agreed to be my model for the day. Around us were the other students, who were practicing applying colour to mannequin heads. We’d been asked last week to try and arrange models. I had a bit of anxiety about not finding a colour model in time and P was the third person I’d asked. I was relieved when she agreed. It turned out that I was the only one with a model.
This morning, before P arrived to have her hair done, we had basic theory of colour application. I knew a little bit from my brief position as an apprentice at another salon, however at this college I haven’t officially done colour theory yet. But I took a lot of notes – you know from my about page and previous posts that I have a writing background, so writing is an effective way of processing information for me – and that helped me to assess P’s hair and provide her with a colour touch-up that would be close to what she wanted, but also suit her lifestyle and (because this was my first colour) be appropriate for my skill level. So with H’s help, we decided on a permanent colour on her roots to match her existing colour, and a semi-permanent to refresh and blend what was already there. This, we were told, is a very popular method for hair that has previous stress from chemicals and the environment – and in Australia, almost everyone has more stressed hair than almost anywhere else in the world (sun, salt, chlorine and hard water aside from the usual heat styling and chemical processes).
Once all the colour had been rinsed off, we applied a colour-locking treatment combined with a volumising treatment to give some extra oomph to P’s hair – something she said she was after, as well as a refreshed colour.
As I blow dried P’s hair, I began to see a golden glow on the hair shaft. I felt satisfaction when I saw that shine. This is what it’s like to do something for someone that should make them feel good, but also makes me feel good seeing the result I imagined. And seeing the smile on someone’s face when they feel good is a great reward.
The end result isn’t perfect. I’d be getting ahead of myself if I said that because: a) this is my very first colour job; and b) I don’t think I’ll ever think something of mine is perfect – where’s the progress once perfection is obtained? The most I’ll ever hope for is almost perfect.

Speaking of perfect/imperfect, my internet is being annoying and for some reason I can’t upload the picture šŸ˜¦ but you can check it out on my Instagram.

Let me know about any exciting firsts you’ve had in the comments šŸ™‚

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

