Weekend Inspiration: Lean In

lean-in_custom-575cb1cc7e2e0e704abfffbc2a0ce498dafad0f8-s6-c30

Last year I made the decision to pursue a career in the hairdressing industry. It had been something that I’d been daydreaming about since leaving uni; but having a university degree and a family full of academics, teachers and those with careers in the humanities in general, I didn’t entertain it seriously. Until my hairdresser told me I’d make a good hairdresser – unprompted but after telling her about how much time I spend reading articles and watching tutorials about haircare online.

Shortly after that I picked up Lean In, a book I’d been wanting to read for a while. If you haven’t read it, especially if your a woman (regardless of career goal), I recommend it.

It was this book that made me realise that I can be whatever I want to be. And Sandberg’s argument is structured in such a way as not to make anyone feel like their goal is too small. While part of her purpose might be to encourage women to take roles of leadership, especially in large corporations, it is also to help women lean in to their dreams and not hide from their potential. My dream was to become a hairdresser – the best hairdresser. And who was to say that I couldn’t be a hairdresser and also publish a novel? Most novelists have a day career, and why shouldn’t I have a day job that was something I loved doing and that inspired me?

And so my journey into this stage of my life began. Almost a year later, I’m still going ahead with my goal, despite the bumps along the way. I’m sure there will be more obstacles, but I don’t plan on giving up any time soon.

What books have you read that have inspired you? Or maybe it was a movie or a work of art. Let me know in the comments.

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

