Weekend Inspiration: Can I Kick It?

It’s funny how the human brain can contain so many different emotions and thoughts at the same time. I had an interview for an assistant position this afternoon at a salon that seems to have a great atmosphere and working environment. And after talking to the manager, I’m going in for a trial tomorrow for five hours. Pretty exciting, right? I’m looking forward to it.
Yet at the same time, I was feeling a bit off after dinner tonight. Aside from my tendency towards anxiety, I think it had something to do with the underlying insecurity I have about getting into the hairdressing industry later than a lot of people. I’m by no means old, but it is frustrating that I took as long as I did to come the realisation that this is what I want to do. And I’m on the road, I’m loving it, but I still have so far to go, and so much work to put in to get where I want to be. Partly, I hope I always have to work hard – I need challenges or the anxiety finds reasons to creep into my mind again – but I want it to be hard work to improve myself as a qualified professional.
Anyway, in the car on the way home, my boyfriend’s iPod started playing A Tribe Called Quest. Me being the music ignoramus that I am, I didn’t know who they were. So he played me their most famous song. Immediately I started to feel better. That background chorus of ‘Yes, you can!’ each time the lead asked ‘Can I kick it?’, really sent a spark of positivity into my thoughts. I can kick it, and I’ll keep trying until I get my own loyal clientele, and the knowledge and experience to push myself creatively and professionally. I just gotta breathe deep, be patient and enjoy the moment.

I hope you all are having a wonderful Friday, and that your weekend is full of happiness.
Love and waves,
Astrid

2 thoughts on “Weekend Inspiration: Can I Kick It?

What are your thoughts?

