Choices and Pop Music

Good morning readers. I’m taking a detour from Monday Memes this week for two reasons: I haven’t found any memes that made me laugh this week; I had a bit of rough weekend with anxiety and wanted to write about it here.
If you read my blog last week, you know I had my first day as a salon assistant at a new salon on Saturday. The six hours passed and after the shift I found myself sitting in the back office filling out the employment form. And there was that little section at the bottom of the form that I’ve seen on every employment form in my working life: Ailments/Illness. I had a choice to make.
In the past I’ve never put anything there. Although I’ve had asthma my entire life, it’s never affected my ability to work and I’ve got it managed. But there’s another thing that I had to decide whether to put down – anxiety. My anxiety has never affected my work either, but it affects my private life and personal projects. I take medication for it.
I stared at the lines on the page with the pen gripped in my hand. I put the pen to the paper, hesitated, and lifted it away again. After this went on for a few minutes, I wrote down asthma and anxiety. The reason behind this decision was that I want to start at this new workplace completely open place. My anxiety is something that of course I could have kept private. But I would much rather have the option to talk to my new boss without springing something like this on her as a prelude to whatever else I might need to discuss. I wrote asthma more because I decided that if I was putting anxiety, I supposed I should put asthma (it’s a more understandable ailment after all).
For the rest of the weekend my mind would wander to what might come of this admission. The most likely scenario is that my boss won’t even bring it up and I’ll continue working there like normal. However, I couldn’t help thinking about cases where people were discriminated against for their mental illness (it’s weird to think of my anxiety and depression as a ‘mental illness’ but I guess if I’m taking medication for it and it affects my well being then…). The latest one that comes to mind is mentioned in the September issue of Women’s Health Australia, page eighteen if you’re curious. It says a woman was not hired in the UK because she told her employer about her history of depression. However Australia is not the same as the UK and the same article says that some people actually have more support and find it helpful when they are up front. So, we’ll see.

And what have I been doing to distract myself? Listening to pop music! I’m never up to date on music, especially pop, but I was drawn to Taylor Swift’s new single Shake It Off by blogger and YouTuber Rebecca Kelsey. And I love it! Not only is it a catchy tune, but I’m always down for some daggy dancing (go watch the video, you’ll know what I mean :D). So I’ve been listening to the playlist mix for Shake It Off all weekend. There’s some great upbeat tunes to dance and sing along to there.

What do you do to make yourself feel better my lovely readers? Let me know in the comments.

Love and waves,
Astrid

2 thoughts on “Choices and Pop Music

What are your thoughts?

