A Splash of Salt: Review

Hey chicas (and chicos)!
How has the first part of your week been? Mine’s been a little up and down with a returning bout of anxiety. But after class today, I’m feeling a little more back to normal – I passed my perming assessment and trimmed some mannequin hair – doing the things I love however small definitely does that.

Today I’m going to give you a review of a product I’ve been trying over the past few weeks: label.m Sea Salt Spray.
IMG_1168

It’s a lovely light sea salt spray – it doesn’t dry out the hair like some salt-based sprays can. And it has a very mild smell – a little synthetic, but it’s inoffensive and fades quickly.
My favourite way to use it is to spray it over my curling cream (currently using Styling Cream by DevaCurl) when I style my hair after washing. It just gives an extra oomph of hold without being.
I didn’t notice the Sea Salt Spray do much as a texturiser on dry hair – maybe I didn’t use enough? And I also didn’t notice much of a difference when I used it on its own or with a leave in conditioner. I think that may be down to me trying it out in winter when my hair tends to be dryer. I usually prefer using salt sprays in summer when my hair is naturally more springy due to the humidity.

Reading the ingredients, they’re almost all natural and there are no silicones so if you follow the Curly Girl method, this product is a-ok. However, there are a couple of parabens (methylparaben and propylparaben), so if you like to steer clear of those this product may not be for you. And for those who have protein sensitivities, there is wheat protein towards the end of the list.

Overall, I really like this spray – especially the non-drying factor – and I’m looking forward to trying it in the warmer months when my hair doesn’t need as much hold.

If you’ve tried this product, let me know what you think in the comments. Or if you have a favourite beachy texture spray, tell me what it is, product junkie to product junkie 😉

Love and waves,
Astrid

6 thoughts on “A Splash of Salt: Review

  1. May I make a suggestion? Include where you are located because I am located in the southwest states of the US, and our climate here is dry dry. So, I believe, depending on whether you live in low humidity or high humidity will make a difference with hair products. I hope you are feeling better! 🙂

    1. Yes you’re right, I think the location would make a lot of difference especially with this type of product. I’m in Sydney, Australia which can get quite humid in the summer.

  2. I have this product – love it!! I thought it worked better in my hair during summer too…No idea why haha

    1. It is tricky to get the hang of! I think the thing is that there is no one clear way to use it. You just have to find the way you like using it.

What are your thoughts?

