First Aussie Spotlight: Sukin

Hello chickens! How are you today? What’s the weather like in your part of the world? Here in Sydney it’s the first day of Spring, and the blue skies really showed off for it.

Now that the chit-chat is out of the way, let me introduce my first product for my Aussie spotlight series: Sukin! For this review I bought the Moisture Restoring Shampoo and Conditioner and the Protein Hair Treatment.

Moisture Restoring Shampoo
sukinshampoo
On first use I found this shampoo to be quite drying – straight after applying it, my hair felt stripped and squeaky. This happened less and less as I used it and by the last time I used it (last week) I felt like my hair was getting moisturised. Whether this was due to me using the combination of their other products, or I was getting used to it, or maybe it was actually doing its job over repeated uses, I’m not sure. Either way, if you prefer a more luxurious texture to your shampoo, you might want to stay away from this one.

Moisture Restoring Conditioner
sukinconditioner
I loved this! Out of the three products I tried, I noticed the most immediate results from the conditioner – and it’s the one I’ll probably repurchase. After the way the shampoo felt like it was stripping my hair, the conditioner just melted into the strands and they felt softer straight away. The first day testing these products I kept touching my hair because it felt so silky.

Protein Hair Treatment
sukintreatment
This treatment comes in sachets and to me, one sachet didn’t feel like enough even though my hair is short. I know that protein treatments aren’t supposed to feel as moisturising as, well, moisture treatments, but because it didn’t spread very well I felt like I needed more than the single use sachet. I think I noticed the least difference from this product. However, I did not leave it on for the full fifteen minutes (I really don’t like getting my head wet twice on a wash day), so that probably affected my results.

Where can you get Sukin? From their online store, Priceline, other chemists and online retailers. They don’t ship internationally from their website, however some of the other online retailers they list are international sites.

How much is it? $*

Eco-friendly: 8/10 I couldn’t find anything saying that their packaging was recycled although it is recyclable and they are a carbon neutral business.

Animal testing? No

Curly Girl friendly? 3/3 No sulfates, silicones or drying alcohol.

Colour safe? No. I couldn’t find any mention of whether these products help with colour-fade and damage.

I hope you found this review helpful! Do you have any suggestions for what Australian brand I should try next? Please let me know your thoughts in the comments 🙂

Love and waves,
Astrid

*$: under $10
$$: under $20
$$$: under $30
$$$$: under $40
$$$$$: over $40

All pictures are from the Sukin website.

9 thoughts on “First Aussie Spotlight: Sukin

  1. I looked at the shampoo initially when I wanted to try a shampoo that didn’t have SLS..but most reviewers said that it was drying too.

What are your thoughts?

