Review: SheaMoisture African Black Soap Balancing Conditioner

I got this conditioner when I was in the States over Christmas and New Year’s. At the time I was using it in conjunction with the matching shampoo, but since going back to conditioner washing, I’ve been using it as a co-wash.
This is a perfect conditioner for the co-washing (conditioner washing) technique. It’s light, completely silicone free, and contains soothing ingredients that help with my occasionally itchy, dry scalp – especially in the colder autumn months. The smell is slightly medicinal, but not so strong that it bothers me – I actually like it. If you’re not a fan of tea tree essential oil, or similar scents, I would probably steer clear of this though.
It’s a shame that sheamoisture hair products are not more readily available in Australia – I would repurchase this in a heartbeat. Granted, you can always purchase this from CurlMart, but the shipping to Australia does not make it worth it to me. There are other products just as good that are much more accessible (MooGoo!).

The Breakdown:

Where can you get it? CurlMart is the only place I would feel comfortable buying from, even though the shipping is darn steep.

How much is it? $$

Eco-friendly? 6/10

Animal testing? No

CG friendly? 3/3

Colour safe? Not explicitly, but I believe that conditioner, being acidic, is inherently colour safe.

Available internationaly? Yes, but with caveats. See the first question.

I hope this helps you some! If you have any thoughts on this product, or would like to recommend a product for me to review, let me know in the comments!

Love and waves,
Astrid

What are your thoughts?

